Tags

is different from ending with a question mark, isn’t it?

And it’s markedly different from ending with a full stop.

Heckler and I met up at a coffee shop in the same shopping centre where we met all those months ago. I wanted to clear the air, but the Heckler that was sitting in front of me at first was a million times removed from the Heckler I’d know for so long. He was so detached and cold, looking at me as if I was some kind of freak. It was excruciating to begin with, and I was ready to get up and leave after a couple of minutes.

The coffee shop was quite busy, even though we got there at 11.30, before the lunchtime rush, so we headed out onto the main walkway and found a bench to sit. We eventually started a conversation – stilted to begin with – but hey, we were talking. More importantly we were listening to each other, about our quirks and needs – we really should have done this at the beginning of the relationship.

Heckler was 99% insistent that we were over, though,(not before offering to buy me lunch at the same place we ate on our first meeting!) and at the exit to the shopping centre we had a hug and he gave me a kiss on the cheek, and left.

I felt that the matter wasn’t fully resolved to completion, so I asked Heckler, via text, a question that had been preying on my mind – why he was so cut up. That’s when he really began to open up.

I really don’t know what’s going to happen here. Maybe it’s too little, too late. But we have to at least try.

*Punctuation police – I know that a comma is not supposed to go here – I was simply making a point.

