For the first time in a long time, I actually managed to see all four members of the stable in one calendar month! Sadly, I was rather unwell when I met up with Shrek, but I didn’t let it spoil the night too much.

Over here in England, August is traditionally the time for school – leavers to receive the results of their final exams (GCSEs) I have a younger family member who did absolutely brilliantly in her exams. Of course I was thrilled for her, but it got me thinking how my life could have been so different if I’d applied myself more at school. I’ve had much happier times than the five years I spent at secondary school and to be honest, the effects of that time on me are still somewhat apparent today, 20 years later. Sigh.

Anyway, my stable is good, but busy at the moment.
Not long after I last saw Shrek, his boss was taken to hospital – Shrek is now covering his work.
Water Man has been busy with work, so it was hard for us to meet up as often as usual.
Heckler is recovering from the bout of illness that caused him to have to cancel our Bank Holiday get-together. Hopefully we can meet up early this week.
Last Thursday, Bertie and I spent a lovely night together in the local 5 – star hotel – the blog entry is now being drafted – with pictures! As I type, he’s on his way to a cruise with Mrs Bertie and will be back towards the end of the month.
And me? Well, I’m finally off to London on Wednesday after months of planning and anticipation. I love London, it’s so “larger than life” and however much time a person has to spend there, it’s never enough. To quote Samuel Johnson, “when a man is tired of London, he is tired of life…”

